Center for Environmentally Beneficial Catalysis
  • Home
  • People
  • Advisory Boards

CEBC Advisory Boards

CEBC is fortunate to receive guidance from two outstanding advisory boards, each bringing a different perspective on issues and trends related to science, engineering, industrial practice, and education.

Industrial Advisory Board (IAB)

The IAB is comprised of one designated representative from each member company. Members of CEBC's IAB play a critical role in guiding the Center's R&D directions. IAB members participate in semi-annual board meetings and conduct formal project evaluations on an annual basis. IAB members also provide strategic and policy recommendations, based on challenges and trends in the industry. Industry members also interact with students and postdoctoral researchers, sharing insights on how R&D is conducted in the private sector. See the current list of Industrial Advisory Board members.

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The purpose of the SAB is to provide an independent assessment of the scientific importance and integrity of the research program. The SAB also serves as a resource for the IAB, assisting with formal project evaluations and providing additional technical insights. The board is composed of a mixture of distinguished faculty from chemistry and chemical engineering, reflecting the interdisciplinary nature of CEBC's research program.

Current SAB Members

Board Member Affiliation
Mahmoud El-Halwagi Professor, Dept. of Chemical Engineering, Texas A&M University
Cynthia Jenks Division Director, Chemical Sciences and Engineering, Argonne National Laboratory
John Kitchin Professor, Chemical Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
Clark Landis Professor, Dept. of Chemsitry, University of Wisconsin-Madison
James J. Spivey Professor, Chemical Engineering, Louisiana State University
Peter Stair Professor and Chair, Dept. of Chemistry, Northwestern University

Past SAB Members

Mahdi Abu-Omar, University of California Santa Barbara
David Allen, University of Texas
Alexis Bell, University of California, Berkeley
Joseph DeSimone, University of North Carolina
Jonathan Dordick, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
James Espenson, Iowa State University (ret.)
Rodney Fox, Iowa State University
Michael Harold, University of Houston
Jack Norton, Columbia University
Vincent Pecoraro, University of Michigan
Chris Roberts, Auburn University
Chunshan Song, Penn State University
Daniel Stack, Stanford University
Yong Wang, Washington State University/PNNL

CEBC Calendar

December 5, Saturday - Baker Wetlands Walk
11 a.m. - noon
Wear masks. We'll meet at the parking lot by the Discovery Center ("P1" on this map, 1365 North 1250 Road, Lawrence). The weather forecast shows a beautiful, crisp day!

December 9, Wednesday - Mandatory Safety Meeting 
9:00 a.m., via Zoom
Topic: Holiday Hazards
This meeting is mandatory for all CEBC researchers working at 1501 Wakarusa

December 9, Wednesday - (Virtual) Holiday Get-Together
~ 9:30-10:30 a.m., via Zoom
We can’t get together to share good food this year, but we can still share good fun! Stick around after the Safety Meeting for great conversation and a few more surprises, as we get together with CEBC friends, new and old. You won’t want to miss this “mandatory” good time! (Don’t forget your snacks)

KU Today
48 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Pharmacy school No. 2 nationally for NIH funding